?

Log in

 

The Matchmaker by CJ - Stargate SG-1 Fanfic Reviews

About The Matchmaker by CJ

Previous Entry The Matchmaker by CJ Aug. 25th, 2005 @ 12:55 pm Next Entry
Okay, I'll be honest here, and say that I'm trying to dig up all the Teal'c fic I can, since I was gone for a week, had a headache for a week, and then clean forgot several times to start getting the Teal'c fic out.

I'm not going to have read a few of these -- this is the only one at Abydos Gate that listed Teal'c as the primary focus, and yes, it's a ship fic, with an OC. That doesn't bode well for me, since in the synopsis, it appears that Jack is the Yenta here, since Teal'c is otherwise occupied being the love interest.

Anyhow, here's the link: http://stargate-sg1.hu/fanfiction/categories.php?catid=4&parentcatid=4
and tell me what you all think of this one.

I'm going to come back later and read it, then give my opinion.

The Matchmaker by Cjay | Reviews (3)
Summary : A new lady arrives at the SGC and takes an interest in Teal'c. Jack, concerned about his friend, lends a hand, hoping the big guy will get his mojo back.
Category: Teal'c Fic Word Count : 26149
Genres: Humor, Romance Chapters: 4
Rating: ALL Warnings: none

Published: 07/04/04 Updated: 12/29/04
Leave a comment
[User Picture Icon]
From:moonshayde
Date:August 25th, 2005 09:20 pm (UTC)
(Link)
Is poor Teal'c only shipped or slashed?

I saw a Gen posting whihc I might check out.

But you know, people cry foul that there is no Teal'c fic and the Teal'c fic I write gets the fewest hits. Do people even want to read Teal'c fic? I'll be darned to find any...

[User Picture Icon]
From:gategrrl
Date:August 25th, 2005 09:26 pm (UTC)
(Link)
Gah! You've keyworded Teal'c, too, eh? I did, and what I've found in general is sparse, or mainly slash or ship. It's like finding a decent nonship Sam story: diamonds in the crap, few and far between.

Alphagate has a large slash selection of Jack/Teal'c and Daniel/Teal'c, but when it comes to their Gen section, they don't classify the fics by character, and you have to wade through all the Jack and Daniel stuff.

Then, of course, there's Area 52 that has lots of Teal'c/someone options to click on. I haven't gone into Heliopolis at all yet, mostly because the place offends me these days with its blatant Sam/Jack orientation...but I might find some good Teal'c stuff there in the archives. And Helio2, I know, has some decent threesome fics with Teal'c. But they don't necessarily fit the requirement of Teal'c being a main player in the fic: he's there mostly for the dick factor.
[User Picture Icon]
From:moonshayde
Date:August 25th, 2005 10:24 pm (UTC)
(Link)
This news does not sit well with me.

Yeah, I checked around. I can't fins ANYTHING on its own about Teal'c. Not an archive. Not even a fanlisting or something.

I have discovered that Helio and GW are the best places to find Teal'c, but Teal'c fic are few and far between. This is based on experience. I've gotten feedback from both of those places, despite how biased they are. So if you ever write a Teal'c fic, you might want to archive there, even if you don't like the places ;)

But for the most part, I think Teal'c fics are mostly in obscure places.

Like with Soul Senses by Carrie. It's not Teal'c fic imo, but Teal'c has the predominant role, with some great team interaction. You can find it I think at Stargatefan and here and there. I think there must be more Teal'c fic like that; where Teal'c is intergral, even maybe central, but it's more a team fic.

It makes looking for him very difficult :(
[User Picture Icon]
From:superbadgirl
Date:August 26th, 2005 04:57 pm (UTC)
(Link)
Heh, that would be me. I hardly classify fic as character-specific.
[User Picture Icon]
From:gategrrl
Date:August 26th, 2005 05:18 pm (UTC)
(Link)
I have Soul Senses on my PDA. Thanks for the reminder. I'll take another read of it, and may post it.

If you remember any other Teal'c fics, please go ahead and post them up, too -- all members and friends have posting privledges on this LJcommunity.
[User Picture Icon]
From:superbadgirl
Date:August 26th, 2005 04:56 pm (UTC)
(Link)
You know I've written some fic in which Teal'c is pretty key, right?

Feeling left out,

sbg
[User Picture Icon]
From:gategrrl
Date:August 26th, 2005 05:20 pm (UTC)
(Link)
Can you send me the URLs, Carrie? - or just the main page you post them up on.

Good Teal'c fic are hard to find: I'm going to have to dump my own personal rule and start posting up Members' fics, if they fit the bill. And there are so many good writers who are Members and Friends here, it's a shame to put a limit on that.
(Leave a comment)
Top of Page Powered by LiveJournal.com